10.10.10

On October 10, 2010, the Netherlands Antilles is dissolved as a country, due to the restructuring of the Kingdom of the Netherlands. In its place, two new countries come into existence, Curação and St Maarten, the two largest islands of the former Netherlands Antilles. The remaining three smaller islands, Bonaire, St. Eustatius and Saba are integrated in The Netherlands under a special legal status. Curação and St Maarten remain autonomous countries within the Kingdom.

As a consequence, the Netherlands Antilles Ship Register on this date, transfers to Curaçao and becomes the Curaçao Ship Register. The Directorate of Shipping and Maritime Affairs, which manages the register, is also transferred to Curaçao and continues as the Maritime Authority of Curaçao. The transfer has no external or internal legal effects, other than the change of name. All flag state responsibilities concerning vessels registered in the former country Netherlands Antilles rest with the new country Curaçao.